Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

William K. (Bill) Bowers

William M. "Bill" Hixon

Robert L. Ridgeway III

James E. Smith Jr.

Robert Q. Williams

Edward R. Tallon Sr.

Neal Collins

Raye Felder

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Executive Subcommittee of the Legislative Oversight Committee

Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Blatt Room 321

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The Executive Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Subcommittee Chairman Gary E. Clary, on the morning of Wednesday, April 5, 2017, in Room 321 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee were present: Subcommittee Chairman Clary, Representative Funderburk, Representative Newton, and Representative Williams.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Newton moves to approve the minutes from the February 15, 2017 Subcommittee meeting.

Rep. Newton's motion to approve the minutes from February 15, 2017:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting
Rep. Clary	✓		
Rep. Funderburk	✓		
Rep. Newton	✓		
Rep. Williams	✓		

Discussion of the State Election Commission

I. Chairman Clary provides an update on the status of the study of the State Election Commission. The following individuals are sworn in:

Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office

- a. Frank Rainwater, Executive Director
- b. Will Roberts, Manager, Precinct Demographics
- c. David Ballard, PLS, County Boundary Program

State Election Commission

- a. Marci Andino, Executive Director
- b. Janet Reynolds, Director of Administration
- c. Chris Whitmire, Director of Training and Public Information
- d. Howard Snider, Director of Voter Services
- e. Kristina Catoe, Staff Attorney
- II. Representatives from the Revenue and Fiscal Affairs Office (RFA) provide a presentation, "Election Boundaries: Precincts, Districts, Census, Counties presentation," which is available online for the public to view. Members ask questions which representatives from RFA answer.
- III. Members ask questions to State Election Commission Director Andino about the agency's role in determining election boundaries. Director Andino answers the questions.

- IV. Constituent Kim Murphy, after being reminded she is still under oath from being sworn in during the full Committee meeting on March 9, 2017, testifies to the Subcommittee about her concerns with election boundaries. Members ask questions, which Ms. Murphy answers.
- V. The meeting is adjourned.